Google Maps Just Added a New Feature to Share Your Location

Google Maps Now Lets You Share
This is e-commerce content. If you purchase something by clicking on a link within this story we may receive a small commission of the sale.

* New location feature lets people see exactly where you are
* You can choose who to share your location with and for how long
* You’re able to share your location through the app or through SMS

Google Maps is rolling out a new feature that lets you share your location, making it easier to meet up with friends, plan get-togethers, arrange your rides and so on.

Users can share their real-time location and ETA within the Google Maps app. You can also share your location via SMS, though, because it sends an open link, it may be less private. 

To share your location, open the Google Maps app and sign in. From there, tap the blue dot and click on the “Share your location” option. You can select how long you want your location to be shown and who to share it with. (Note: all parties need the latest version of the app to use this feature.) 

Facebook recently removed its location-sharing feature after users were complaining about the potential privacy implications associated with users broadcasting their real-time location. However, Google hopes to soothe these concerns by baking in a few privacy protocols, namely letting users choose who to share their location with and for how long. You can choose to broadcast your location anywhere from a few minutes, up to three days.

Our best advice? Make sure you know when your location sharing is on and when it’s off. And make sure you know who you’re sharing your location with. Don’t let people you don’t know or just met see where you are.

Also, don’t keep your location sharing on for longer than a few minutes. In fact, make sure you only turn it on when you really need it. Once you’ve tracked your friends or you’ve met up, flick the location tracker off until your next rendez-vous.