Private Messaging App Viber Just Added Self-Destructing Chats

viber app self-destructing chats
This is e-commerce content. If you purchase something by clicking on a link within this story we may receive a small commission of the sale.

* Provides end-to-end encryption for messages and calls
* Secret Chat feature automatically blocks texts from being forwarded
* Wipes your texts after a pre-determined time 

In an age where privacy is becoming more of a privilege than a right, apps like Viber are seeing a rise in popularity. With more than 800 million users, the private messaging app lets people send and receive encrypted texts through the app’s discreet and anonymous messaging service. Now, Viber’s gone a step further by introducing their new encrypted Secret Chat feature.

Here’s the skinny: this feature automatically blocks your messages from being forwarded, lets you hide your other chats behind a pin code, notifies you when someone on the other end takes a screenshot (if you’re using an iOS) and completely prevents them from taking screenshots on Android.

What’s more, these messages will essentially self-destruct after a certain time limit, which leaves them completely and utterly untraceable. You can set the timer to self-destruct in seconds, minutes or even days.

Viber isn’t the first messenger service to introduce self-destructing chats — you may remember a news story where White House staff members were using Confide, a similar private messaging app that also uses self-destructing texts.

To take advantage of Viber’s new service, both you and your recipients need to be using the latest version of the app.

This comes at a time where people’s right to privacy is being called into question every day. Confiscating computers from flights, asking people to voluntarily hand over their social media passwords, asking companies like Apple to build backdoors into their devices, hinting at extracting sensitive information from protesters’ phones — this is why apps like Viber are becoming more popular. You always want to be in control of your messages — not the other way around.