Skip to main content

And The Oscar For Best Picture Goes To… Who?

* Moonlight wins Best Picture at 89th Academy Awards
* La La Land mistakenly named winner after wrong card was used on stage
* Moonlight also won Best Supporting Actor and Best Adapted Screenplay

In what is sure to be a buzzed about moment for years to come, Moonlight took home the Oscar for Best Picture at the 89th Academy Awards – but only after an awkward and confusing turn of events in the last few minutes of the live broadcast.

Actors Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway were on stage to announce the Best Picture winner, but were incorrectly given the Best Actress award envelope (that trophy has previously gone to La La Land‘s Emma Stone). A confused Beatty paused for a few moments before handing the envelope to Dunaway, who then read the card and announced La La land as the Best Picture winner.

The La La Land team was in the middle of their acceptance speeches when the error was pointed out. It led to a somewhat awkward shuffling around of people on stage, as the Moonlight cast and crew eventually left their seats to come up to receive their award before the stunned audience.


Moonlight, based on the play, “Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue,” by Tarell Alvin McCraney, was nominated for eight Academy Awards and took home two others, in addition to Best Picture: Mahershala Ali won for Best Supporting Actor, while Barry Jenkins and McCraney won for Best Adapted Screenplay.


La La Land had led the way with a record 14 nominations, tying Titanic for the most nominations in one year. The musical ended up with six wins, including Best Director for Damien Chazelle and the aforementioned Best Actress trophy for Stone.


La La Land also took home the Oscar for Best Original Score and Best Original Song, for “City of Stars.” Other big winners on the night included Casey Affleck, who won the Best Actor trophy for his starring role in

and Viola Davis, who was named Best Supporting Actress for .

If you buy something because we told you about it, we may receive compensation from retail partners.